Scroll Top


Executive Board of Directors

Karl Schaller

Karl Schaller is Professor and chairman of the department of neurosurgery at the Geneva University Medical Center and Faculty of Medicine since 2007. In addition, he is the director of the Clinical Neuroscience-Center in Geneva.

He received his pregraduate training at the University of Tübingen, Germany, and pursued his post-graduate career in academic neurosurgery in Duisburg and in Bonn, Germany. On numerous occasions, pregraduate and postgraduate, he has visited neurosurgical departments around the world.

His main surgical and research interests concern neurovascular surgery, the treatment of epilepsy, and surgery of brain tumors. Moreover, he and his team are actively researching the sense of Self in humans.

He is serving on the editorial or advisory board of several neurosurgical journals, and he has been guest faculty at numerous international faculties, and honorary member of several national neurosurgical societies. He is a co-founder of the SFITS (Swiss Foundation for Innovation and Training in Surgery), a dedicated institute for surgical technology and training.

André Grotenhuis
Board Member

Dr. Andre Grotenhuis is an Emeritus Professor of Neurosurgery and former Chairman and Training Program Director at the Department of Neurosurgery at the Radboud UMC (Radboud University Medical Centre) Nijmegen, the Netherlands. He worked there throughout his career from May 1987 until his retirement in 2019.

Initially studying medicine at the Catholic University of Nijmegen from 1972, Dr. Grotenhuis later, after his M.D. graduation in 1979 and fulfilling his term of military duty, completed neurosurgical residency training at the Academisches Lehrkrankenhaus Städtische Kliniken in Duisburg, Germany. During his training he completed multiple fellowships at the University Clinic in Vienna, Austria, the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada in 1985, and the Karolinska Sjukhuset in Stockhom, Sweden in 1986. Board certified in both Germany and the Netherlands, he began his clinical work in 1987 as Assistant Professor at the University Hospital St. Radboud Nijmegen and Consultant neurosurgeon at the Canisius Wilhelmina Hospital Nijmegen.

Since 1995, he has been Senior Lecturer at the Medical School of the University of Nijmegen and Associate Professor of Neurosurgery at the University Hospital St. Radboud. He defended a PhD thesis in December 2000 on ‘Endoscopic third Ventriculostomy in the treatment of hydrocephalus’. In 1999 he became chairman and in 2001 full clinical professor.
He has been a delegate in the EANS Training Courses, served as Chair of the Postgraduate Education Committee. He was secretary, president-elect, president, past-president, and historian of the EANS (European Association of Neurosurgical Societies). He has been a Board Member of the of the NVvN (Dutch Neurosurgical Society), Chairman of their Quality Assessment Committee, Chairman of the Committee of Medico-Legal Expertise, Chairman of their Consilium Neurochirugicum and Chairman and then more than ten years member of their Accreditation Committee. He has served as second Vice-President of the WFNS and currently sits as President of the International Society of Neurosurgical Technology and instrument invention and Chairman of the WFNS Audit Committee.

He holds multiple memberships including the AANS, CNS, EANS, European Skull Base Society, Nederlandse Vereniging voor Neurochirurgie (Dutch Neurosurgical Society), Deutsche Gesellschaft fur Neurochirurgie (German Society for Neurosurgery), Nederlandse Vereniging voor Schedelbasischirugie (Dutch Society for Skull Base Surgery). He is an elected member of the Academia Eurasiana Neurochirurgica and the World Academy of Neurological Surgery. Moreover, he is the Medical Advisor for Nederlandse Hypofyse Stichting (Dutch Foundation of Pituitary Diseases).

While co-founder and member of the editorial board for the journal ‘Minimally Invasive Neurosurgery’ for many years and now for “Acta Neurochirurgica”, “Surgical Neurology International” and “Innovative Neurosurgery”, he likewise is an active reviewer for several journals including Neurosurgery, Journal of Neurosurgery, Central European Neurosurgery, Clinical Neurology and Neurosurgery, Neurosurgical Review, Acta Neurochirurgica, to name a few. He has authored three books, 35 book chapters, more than 130 peer-reviewed scientific publications and given more than 500 (international) lectures and presentations.

Johannes van Loon
Board Member

Johan van Loon is professor and chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University Hospital Leuven and at KU Leuven University (Belgium). He studied medicine in Leuven, and did a postgraduate training in neurosurgery at the University Hospital Leuven and Klinikum Grosshadern Munich (Germany). Since 2004 he has been Professor of Neuroanatomy at the KU Leuven University.

His main areas of interest are vascular neurosurgery, pituitary surgery, functional neurosurgery (epilepsy surgery and microvascular decompression) and topographic neuroanatomy.

Johan van Loon is currently the EANS Secretary, and he has served as the President of the Belgian Society for Neurosurgery. In 2011 he became President of the UEMS Section of Neurosurgery. He has also served as the Chairman of the UEMS/EANS Joint Committee for CME (EACCME).

Heiner A. Weber
Board Member

Heiner A. Weber is a hands-on investor through Katalysen Ventures, one of Northern Europe’s most active early-stage investors and the region’s leading venture development firm based in Stockholm, is also on the board of several Fintech companies and of the business intelligence consultancy Alaco Suisse. He started his career in electronic options trading, as co-founder and managing partner at a pan-European options trading company, and was later responsible for teams covering semi-institutional clients at Swiss banks. Other assignments included being the managing partner of a start-up boutique investment bank mainly focusing on ventures in frontier markets and leading the financing strategy in a large scale real estate project in Madrid. Heiner has a CAIA, PRM and CQF, studied at EPFL and IMD.

Magnus Reibenspiess
Board Member

Magnus is a senior executive in the MedTech industry with insights in different medical disciplines including Neurosurgery, ENT, Spine, Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery and Dentistry. He is driven to improve evidenced based clinical outcome for medical professionals treating their patients. Through his engagements in the MedTech Industry he contributes to provide solutions and medical workflows to the various segments that are developed and implemented in collaboration with the Medical Societies addressing the needs in healthcare around the world.

Starting in Sales in various regional and global roles, magnus held assignments in a variety companies in the MedTech Sector including Commercial Roles, Product & Marketing Management as well as Supply Chain and Contract Manufacturing. He currently serves ZEISS Meditec AG, a stock listed leading company in Medical Technology based out of Germany as President / Head of the Strategic Business Unit Microsurgery.